“Colossal” sunspot could jeopardize power grids and satellite operations (Activistpost.com)

5 of 5 (1 Vote)

CME1

According to a study by Study Finds

Earth is under the watchful eye of scientists as a colossal sunspot, roughly 15 times the size of our planet, threatens to cause widespread disruption. Known as sunspot AR3664, this immense spot extends an astonishing 124.000 miles. The impact of these geomagnetic storms is considerable, as they can disrupt the operation of satellites, communications, the power grid and even navigation systems.

Sunspots are darker, cooler areas on the surface of the sun, resulting from interactions with the magnetic field of the sun. These areas are often the source of solar flares and coronal mass ejections (CMEs), which are sudden eruptions of magnetic fields and plasma from the solar corona.

CME2
The image captured by NASA's Solar Dynamics Observatory (SDO) spacecraft
shows the sunspot solar flare of Thursday, March 9. (Credit: NASA)
 

The risk of chaos comes from the sunspot's ability to emit powerful Class X solar flares, the most intense form of solar flares known for their ability to disrupt the Earth's geomagnetic field. According to Spaceweather.com, these eruptions direct large amounts of energy and radiation towards our planet.

The US Space Weather Prediction Center (SWPC), a division of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), is closely monitoring this activity. It began tracking a series of solar flares since last Wednesday, marking a renewed activity of the sun. The SWPC has officially issued a Severe Geomagnetic Storm Watch (G4) for the evening of Friday, May 10. This warning extends into the weekend as new solar flares are likely to continue to affect Earth.

“Space weather forecasters have issued a severe geomagnetic storm (G4) watch for the evening of Friday, May 10. Additional solar flares could cause geomagnetic storm conditions to persist through the weekend,” a declared the SWPC.

Since the start of the day on Wednesday, this group of sunspots has generated several moderate to strong solar flares. "At least five flares have been associated with CMEs that appear to be directed toward Earth. SWPC forecasters will monitor NOAA and NASA space assets for the appearance of a geomagnetic storm," the center added. .

In its latest statement, the SWPC highlighted the potential risks: "Geomagnetic storms can impact infrastructure in near-Earth orbit and on the Earth's surface, potentially disrupting communications, the power grid, navigation, radio and the operation of satellites.

Despite these disruptions, geomagnetic storms can also cause one of nature's most astonishing visual phenomena: aurorae. "A strong geomagnetic storm can cause the appearance of auroras to Alabama and Northern California,” says the SWPC.

CME3
The image captured by NASA's Solar Dynamics Observatory (SDO) spacecraft
shows the sunspot solar flare. (Credit: NASA)
 

The Solar Dynamics Observatory (SDO) continues to observe these developments and its results are essential to improve our understanding of solar variability and prepare for its impacts. This mission highlights the complex dance between celestial phenomena and their effects on Earth, emphasizing the dynamic and interconnected nature of our solar system.

SWNS editor Dean Murray contributed to this report.

source: Study Finds

StudyFinds strives to find new research that speaks to the general public, without the scientific jargon. The articles we publish are summarized, digestible versions of research that aim to inform the reader and spark civil, educated debate.

See the archives articles from StudyFinds

Top image: The image captured by NASA's Solar Dynamics Observatory (SDO) spacecraft shows the solar flare from the sunspot to the lower right of the star on Thursday, May 9. SDO observes in different wavelengths to discover different details of activity.

Or support us with SubscribeStar
Donate in cryptocurrency HERE

Subscribe to Activist Post for information on truth, peace and freedom. follow us on SoMee, Telegram, HIVE, Minds, Mewe, Twitter -, Gab et What Really Happened.

Provide, protect and enjoy what happens! Get a free number from Counter Markets from today.

free ebook How To Survive the Job Automation Apocalypse (English)
free ebook How To Get Started with Bitcoin: Quick and Easy Guide for Beginners

 

source: Activistpost.com

 


Subscribe to the Daily Crashletter

Subscribe to the Crashletter to receive all the new articles on the site at 17:00 p.m.

Friend sites

Une tache solaire "colossale" pourrait mettre en péril les réseaux électriques et le fonctionnement des satellites (Activistpost.com)

5 of 5 (1 Vote)

CME1

Selon une étude de Study Finds

La Terre est sous l'œil vigilant des scientifiques, car une tache solaire colossale, d'une taille environ 15 fois supérieure à celle de notre planète, menace de provoquer des perturbations généralisées. Connue sous le nom de tache solaire AR3664, cette immense tache s'étend sur une distance étonnante de 124.000 miles. L'impact de ces tempêtes géomagnétiques est considérable, car elles peuvent perturber le fonctionnement des satellites, les communications, le réseau électrique et même les systèmes de navigation.

Les taches solaires sont des zones plus sombres et plus froides à la surface du soleil, résultant d'interactions avec le champ magnétique du soleil. Ces zones sont souvent à l'origine des éruptions solaires et des éjections de masse coronale (CME), qui sont des éruptions soudaines de champs magnétiques et de plasma provenant de la couronne solaire.

CME2
L'image capturée par le vaisseau spatial SDO (Solar Dynamics Observatory) de la NASA
montre l'éruption solaire de la tache solaire du jeudi 9 mars. (Crédit : NASA)
 

Le risque de chaos provient de la capacité de la tache solaire à émettre de puissantes éruptions solaires de classe X, la forme la plus intense des éruptions solaires connues pour leur capacité à perturber le champ géomagnétique de la Terre. Selon Spaceweather.com, ces éruptions dirigent de grandes quantités d'énergie et de radiations vers notre planète.

Le Centre américain de prévision météorologique spatiale (SWPC), une division de l'Administration nationale des océans et de l'atmosphère (NOAA), surveille de près cette activité. Il a commencé à suivre une série d'éruptions solaires depuis mercredi dernier, marquant un regain d'activité du soleil. Le SWPC a officiellement émis une veille de tempête géomagnétique sévère (G4) pour le vendredi 10 mai au soir. Cet avertissement s'étend jusqu'au week-end, car de nouvelles éruptions solaires sont susceptibles de continuer à affecter la Terre.

"Les prévisionnistes de la météorologie spatiale ont émis une veille de tempête géomagnétique sévère (G4) pour la soirée du vendredi 10 mai. D'autres éruptions solaires pourraient entraîner la persistance de conditions de tempête géomagnétique tout au long du week-end", a déclaré le SWPC.

Depuis le début de la journée de mercredi, ce groupe de taches solaires a généré plusieurs éruptions solaires modérées à fortes. "Au moins cinq éruptions ont été associées à des CME qui semblent être dirigées vers la Terre. Les prévisionnistes du SWPC surveilleront les moyens spatiaux de la NOAA et de la NASA pour détecter l'apparition d'une tempête géomagnétique", a ajouté le centre.

Dans sa dernière déclaration, le SWPC a souligné les risques potentiels : "Les tempêtes géomagnétiques peuvent avoir un impact sur les infrastructures en orbite proche de la Terre et à la surface de la Terre, perturbant potentiellement les communications, le réseau électrique, la navigation, la radio et le fonctionnement des satellites".

Malgré ces perturbations, les tempêtes géomagnétiques peuvent également provoquer l'un des phénomènes visuels les plus étonnants de la nature : les aurores. "Une forte tempête géomagnétique peut entraîner l'apparition d'aurores jusqu'en Alabama et en Californie du Nord", précise le SWPC.

CME3
L'image capturée par le vaisseau spatial SDO (Solar Dynamics Observatory) de la NASA
montre l'éruption solaire de la tache solaire. (Crédit : NASA)
 

L'Observatoire de la dynamique solaire (SDO) continue d'observer ces évolutions et ses résultats sont essentiels pour améliorer notre compréhension de la variabilité solaire et nous préparer à ses impacts. Cette mission met en évidence la danse complexe entre les phénomènes célestes et leurs effets sur la Terre, soulignant la nature dynamique et interconnectée de notre système solaire.

Dean Murray, rédacteur de SWNS, a contribué à ce rapport.

Source : Study Finds

StudyFinds s'efforce de trouver de nouvelles recherches qui s'adressent au grand public, sans le jargon scientifique. Les articles que nous publions sont des versions résumées et digestes de recherches qui ont pour but d'informer le lecteur et de susciter un débat civil et instruit.

Voir les archives des articles de StudyFinds

Image du haut : L'image capturée par le vaisseau spatial SDO (Solar Dynamics Observatory) de la NASA montre l'éruption solaire de la tache solaire en bas à droite de l'étoile le jeudi 9 mai. SDO observe dans différentes longueurs d'onde pour découvrir différents détails de l'activité.

Ou soutenez-nous avec SubscribeStar
Faites un don en crypto-monnaie ICI

Abonnez-vous à Activist Post pour des informations sur la vérité, la paix et la liberté. Suivez-nous sur SoMee, Telegram, HIVE, Minds, MeWe, Twitter - X, Gab et What Really Happened.

Fournissez, protégez et profitez de ce qui arrive ! Obtenez un numéro gratuit de Counter Markets dès aujourd'hui.

Free ebook How To Survive the Job Automation Apocalypse (en anglais)
Free ebook How To Get Started with Bitcoin : Guide rapide et facile pour les débutants

 

Source : Activistpost.com